Whenever you view a pinboard you have the option of sharing it with others.

Save and share pinboards

When you share a Pinboard, you share a live link to the Pinboard that reflects the latest version of it. When someone else views the Pinboard you shared with them, they see the most recently saved version with the most recent data.

You do not have to be an administrator or the Pinboard’s owner to share saved Pinboards. Any user can share them, based on the access levels the user has.

You can share a Pinboard from the list of Pinboards on the main pinboards page, or from the pinboard itself.

Share from the Pinboards page

To share a Pinboard from the main Pinboard page, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the Pinboard to look as it must appear when you share it.

  2. Save the Pinboard by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

    Save the pinboard

  3. Click Pinboards on the bar at the top of your screen.

    The top menu bar

  4. Select the Pinboard you want to share from the list of Pinboards by hovering over it and clicking the empty check box that appears.

  5. Click Share.

    Share the pinboard

  6. Specify permissions.

Share from within a pinboard

To share a Pinboard from within the Pinboard, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the Pinboard to look as it must appear when you share it.

  2. Save the Pinboard by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

  3. Click the sharing icon sharing icon.

    Click the sharing icon

  4. Specify permissions.

Specify permissions

  1. After you click the Share icon, the sharing dialog box appears.

    The sharing dialog box

  2. Enter users or groups with whom you want to share this object in the text box.

    Note that you can only enter email addresses whose domains are in your list of allowed domains. These domains appear when you click on the info button .

  3. Configure the level of access by selecting from the drop-down list. You can select:
    • Can View to provide read-only access. If the user doesn’t have access to the underlying worksheet, they can only view the shared object.
    • Can Edit to allow modification. Enables renaming or deleting the shared object. If a user with edit privileges modifies a shared object, the object saves their changes.
  4. If the selected group or user does not have access to the underlying data, you must enable access to the worksheet, view, or table. A black warning symbol appears when you try to share with a user who does not have underlying data access. If you click on it, it tells you to enable access:

    Warning: enable data access

    If you own the underlying data source, you can enable access through the sharing dialog box. If you do not own the data source, ThoughtSpot emails the owner of the data source or your ThoughtSpot administrator to ask them to share the data.

    To enable access, select Give view access to underlying data sources at the bottom of the dialog box. You can click on the arrow to view the data sources.

    Enable data access

    After you enable access, the warning symbol turns into a green checkmark.

  5. To stop sharing with a user or group, click the x icon next to the Permissions dropdown.

  6. You can choose to send an email notification and an optional message.

  7. You can also copy a direct link to the Answer, Pinboard, or visualization within a Pinboard that you are sharing, and separately send that link to users after you share the object with them. Simply click the Copy link button at the bottom of the sharing dialog box.

    Share an object and send the link to users you shared with

  8. Click Share.